intention projection

Moderators: Elvis, DrVolin, Jeff

intention projection

Postby teamdaemon » Sat May 31, 2008 2:20 am

So I wanted to run this idea by the board. I think that there is a tendency in the human brain to perceive every event and circumstance as being directed or brought about by some form of intelligence with intention. This is probably a reaction to coincidence / synchronicity and increasing novelty.

So is that the case, or was I passed this meme by some subliminal propagandist that I am not aware of? Does anyone know of anyone who has written anything of note about this sort of thing?
teamdaemon

Blog: View Blog (0)

Postby Searcher08 » Sat May 31, 2008 5:59 am

Does it depend upon the point of view of the experiencer?
For example, if I am an agent in a very complex, self-organizing system, I may experience a multiplicity of interconnected events, actors and patterns with a clearly evolving design (although I cannot easily say what it is..).

If I am "outside" the system, I will see an actor who is being influenced and is behaving in a very predictable way, according to the laws of complexity - I will just see a mandelbrot set doing what it's formula says it should...
Searcher08

Postby justdrew » Sat May 31, 2008 5:05 pm

I think it's like the human brains tendency to find "faces" in almost anything. Just something hardwired in by evolution.

X . . . . . . . . . X

. . _______ . .
justdrew

Blog: View Blog (11)

Postby monster » Sat May 31, 2008 5:09 pm

I agree, association of cause and effect seems like a pretty fundamental evolutionary adaption.
"I’ve just completed Mike’s Nature trick of adding in the real temps to each series for the last 20 years (ie from 1981 onwards) amd from 1961 for Keith’s to hide the decline."
monster

Postby DrVolin » Sat May 31, 2008 5:19 pm