To name a mountain

Moderators: Elvis, DrVolin, Jeff

To name a mountain

Postby 82_28 » Tue Sep 01, 2015 1:03 pm

I knew the wingers would do this and you did too. There is a feigned uproar about Obama officially making Denali THE NAME. Maybe it's because I am in the PNW and have run into many an Alaskan and it has always been Denali to them. When I checked IDs for a living I would occasionally get an Ohio ID. I always told them they could get a drink if they could tell me what's high in the middle and round on both sides? Ohio people never got it. But it's an old joke/riddle my grandpa used to tell to people from Ohio to see if they could figure it out.

Anyhow, I have no problem with making Denali the official name because it basically is and always has been.

Republicans are pitching a conniption this week over an Obama administration decision that should’ve otherwise passed through the news cycle mostly without comment. This latest manifestation of the GOP’s virulent Obama Derangement Syndrome was spurred by the official re-renaming of Alaska’s Mt. McKinley, the tallest peak in the United States, and the centerpiece of one of the most majestic National Parks in the country.

The White House announced on Monday that the Department of the Interior will restore the name of the mountain back to its original designation as “Denali,” the Athabascan word for “the great one.” Predictably, this is a total atrocity according to both conservative Twitter and the GOP at large.

On Monday, Ohio Republicans including Speaker John Boehner defended the integrity of native Ohioan William McKinley and lashed out against the decision. Boehner, for his part, wrote in a statement: